A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnersh

It is argued that, in order to reduce the patients' chance of continuing to suffer the heart problems and reduce the necessity of more treatment, the author suggests that the Sherwood hospital and Sherwood Animal Shelter should cooperate to start a program which let the patients with heart disease adopt dogs because of the survey in the statement concluded that people who have pets especially dogs would suffer less heart disease. Furthermore, this program could encourage more people to adopt the pets from the shelter who would suffer less heart conditions as well. However, the suggestion and program are problematic, because there are some loopholes. Let's evaluate them carefully.

To begin with, the report showed by the author is not compelling as the details of the study are obsecure, this would misguide the people who read this statement as if it works as an evidence to prove the author's idea. Firstly, the author does not tell us how many people meanwhile where are they from as as well as the sex ratio in this study, it is so opaque which was merely the result concluded by the autho that we could not make the conclusion that the pet's owener suffer less heart disease. Secondly, the kinds of pets are not mentioned comprehensively in the study, even if the therapy of adopting dogs works, we still do not know how better is the method of keeping dogs than other pets like cats, in this case, there may be some other conclusion like the cat adopting also works in reducing the owners heart conditions.Thirdly and foremost, the atuhor does not make clear wheher rasing dogs is benificial for the owners with heart disease or the owners without the disease or the ones about to have the disease. Due to the different periods of the diesease, the effect of the adopting dogs may vary if it really works, while here is another point that obsecures us.

In addtion, let's develve into the cooperating program which intends to let patients with heart disease. As we do not know what the sherwood animal shelter's conditon by the author, thus whether the pets there are healthy is in question. It is precarious for the patients getting in touch with unhealthy pets especiall dogs which may carry rabid disease, if they contaminate t othe patients, the program is doomed. Morevoer, there is a high possbility that some of the patients with heart disease afraid of dogs even alergic of them, so it is also unpolitic for them to adopt dogs by which means may bring about other troubles.

Finally, the future program will encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter which could also deduce the people's chance for getting heart disease. Before making clear whtether the theray of adopting pets is available as we discussed above, the people may also be afraid of pets even alergic of them. So the statement is not compelling.