A recent study shows that people living on the continent of North America suffer 9 times more chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than do people living on the continent of Asia. Interestingly, Asians, on average, eat 20 grams of soy per day, whereas North Americans eat virtually none. It turns out that soy contains phytochemicals called isoflavones, which have been found to possess disease-preventing properties. Thus, North Americans should consider eating soy on a regular basis as a way of preventing fatigue and depression.

Surely, North Americans should consider soy in their food habits. Although the author of the passage fails to give a brief justification regarding the same. The author mentions about the study that shows that North America suffer 9 times more chronic Fatigue and 31 times more Chronic depression as compared to the residences of Asia. It is not evident from the above statement that the fatigue and depression is due to the food habit. The timeline of the study is not mentioned, that infers that the study could have been conducted for 10 years or just 10 days.

Furthermore, The author fails to mention the number of people, the study was conducted. The regular habitat of the people on whom the study was conducted, their stress levels, they work-life balance. These are some of the factors that cud have been a part of study or not, but is not mentioned by the author. The author also did not take into account the climatic conditions and extreme climate of both the continents. The soy would have been suitable for Asians due to favourable environmental contains but not for North Americans.

As per the study, Asians consume 20 grams of soy per day and North Americans consume none. This factor may depend on the food habits of all Asians. Asia being the biggest continent, the food habit of china is very different than that of India or Nepal or Pakistan. The author fails to mention the geographic location of the study conducted in Asia and North America. The water and soil of both the continents are different that may cause difference in quality of soy. The soy in North America may not be healthy as compared to that in Asia.

Soy contains phytochemicals called isoflavones, that have disease preventing properties. Soy might have other family members too and the soy found in North America might be different than that found in Asia. It is said that soy prevents disease but recent study also says that excess of soy has given rise to hypothyroid in females. Due to difference in geographic region and extreme climatic conditions, there is a possibility that habitat of North America is allergic to soy as compared to Asians. The author fails to mention the other foods that Asians and North Americans consume. This because it may happen that soy has some hazardous effects also but is nullified by consuming something with it.

Americans should consider eating soy on regular basis to prevent fatigue and depression as per this study but the author fails to give an elaborative version of the study and it is difficult to interpret with the above paragraph.