Recently Honey Bun replaced the use of sugar with aspartame, a sugar substitute, throughout its bakeries in the Northeast regions of the United States. Contrary to initial expectations, this change did not negatively impact our customer’s preferences. So far, only 5 percent of our customers have complained about this change, suggesting that an average of 95 customers out of 100 have no problems with the use of aspartame in our bakery products. It is therefore clear that since our customers have not expressed great concern about the use of aspartame instead of sugar, we should extend this change to all the branches of Honey Bun bakeries in the rest of the country.

The author argues that the replacement of sugar with aspartame, in honey bun bakeries throughout the northeast regions of united stated has not negatively impacted the customer's preferences. only 5% of the cutomers have complained. so all branches of the bakery should replace sugar with the sugar substitute, aspartame.

Firstly, the author says that only 5% of the customers have complained. The author does not mention the number. it might happen that the total number of customer were 10000 and 5%of them have complained which is 500 customers. The number 500 is huge. this was just an illustartion the number could have been bigger, hence leading to dissatisfaction of huge number of customers of the bakery. this can ultimately impact the sales of the bakery. so, the author could have mentioned the actual number of people who were taken into account, this would have strengethened his claim.

Secondly, the author says change has been into effect only in northeast regions of united states. it might happen that other regions of the country would react negatively to the change from sugar to its substitute. also the number of such people who deny the change would be greater in comparison to the people in the northeast region of the country who actually like the change. Had the author mentioned that the population of northeast regions exceeds population of other regions combined significantly, then the argument could have been more plausible as it would be a majority of population in the northeast regions of the country.

Thirdly, the author assumes that the 95 customer out of 100 who haven't expressed any dissatisfaction hare happy with the replacement of sugar with the substitute. it might have happened that among thiose 95 customers too there are people who are unhappy about the change but they haven't expressed their concern. they might have switched to another bakery for the same. Had the author mentioned anything about having taken feedback of those 95% of customers appreciating the use of aspartame the argument have been more cogent.

The author express his idea of extending the change from sugar to its substitute to all branches of honey bun bakeries in the rest of the country. However it might happen that the idea might turn out to a failure and people of other regions excluding northeast regions do not like the change. it might be possible that people of northeast are more open to new ideas. but not necessarily the other regions. The other regions may have a conserved opinion about change. it differs from region to region. hence the author should have taken into consideration all those factors before asserting to extend the change to the rest of the country.

hence we can conclude that, the author has made certain assumptions and reached a conclusion. but the assumptions are not backed by numbers. Had the author mentioned some facts, actual numbers the argument have been more convinving. also a study to different regions and their preferences might be added to the argument to make it more clear and cogent.