Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In a recent magazine, it was stated that People with the apartment’s in stairs only building tend to live a healthier and longer lives than compared to the ones living in a building with an elevator as well, i.e. residents of a building with no elevator experience health issues less frequently than to those having elevator as an option to commute. In order to support this thought, author quoted three supporting statements but in order to evaluate the argument first, we need to answer these two questions.

Firstly, we are not told about the reason for the residents of a building with an elevator for their visit to the doctor. We cannot judge on the basis that people who visit the doctor more often are unhealthier than the one who isn’t. As for example, A person could have his routine check-up scheduled and on the other hand, it could be a case that a person with only stairs as an option commute couldn’t help himself to visit the doctor's reason being no elevator present. Hence, this supporting statement by the author does not stand strong in supporting the argument.

Secondly, as far as the questionnaire is concerned we never know if a resident of a building with an elevator was interviewed or not, and if only a few people were questioned. For Example, if a few people of a building are asked some random questions about their health, that cannot be an answer to the whole building.

Hence, the assumptions made by the author are clearly flawed and does not stand grounds. If the author is able to answer the unstated assumptions asked in the passage above, an evaluation can be done.