Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness,

sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The prompt seeks to establish a clear connection between health and stair usage, and, in doing so, a few possible explanations have been proposed to support the reasoning. However, most of these reasons are specious as they cannot bee strongly associated with the assumption that increased stair usage improves the health of residents. As a result, there are contrasting explantions that can be posed to rival the explannations state. The main is that residents of building with stair visit the hospital less often. The purpose of this response is to propose alternative reasonings.

Firstly, the second explanation the elderly of residents with stairs visit the hospital more frequently can be countered by the realization that elevators make it easier for them to leave their apartments to visit the doctor; and return after . A pharmacist clerking her patient, a 75 year diabetic patient, was unable to frequently go foe his hospital blood glucose check-up because he lives in a story building with stairs. He complained that the stress of going up and down the stair is a the main discouragement from coming to the hospital to see the doctor. This counters the implied explanation of fewer hospital visits by residents with stairs.

Furthermore on increased access or inclinations to see the doctors, because resident with elevators visit the doctors for their hospital check-ups, they rarely come down with illnesses compared to residents with stairs. This accounts for the why new patients surveyed in the hospital are mostly residents with stairs. In addition, a study has shown that the constant stress of using the stair compound health problems of residents causing them to use the hosptals more frequently.

While it is would be capricious to jettison the effects of increase motility and moderate daily excerise in improve the health condition of residents. It can be considered also that generally, patients in appartments with elevators are more financial capable of taking care of their health needs as a result they have fewer reasons to visit the hospital on health basis whencompared to patients with stairs.

In summary, yes the role of the moderate daily exercise does have positive health effects, it the stairs usage cannot be the only reason for improved health of residents. Residents with stairs may mave more direct assess and inclination to see the doctors.