Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary.

The writer of the argument concludes that the total demand for electricity in writer’s area will not increase since three electric generating plants are pleased their demands, and in this order there is no need to construct a new plant because of some main reasons: several surveys has just shown that home owners are enthusiasm to maintain energy, manufacturers decide to sell many home appliances with more energy efficiency, and new technologies are taking apart in saving energy consuming which is needed for home heating; however this conclusion cannot be confirmed as it is in that it rests on a number of promises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer refers to several surveys but not indicate how many people participate in each survey reported. As you know, in research surveys the greater the number of the people in the sample, the more reliable and valid the findings are. Maybe in these surveys only ten people took apart; hence, the findings of such surveys are neither reliable nor valid. Even if it is assumed that adequate people participated in, there is still another problem with the sample. In a research survey, the findings can be generalized to the target population if the sample used is representative of the concerned population in terms of age, sex, social class, culture, etc.; however, in this argument there is no evidence to illustrate whether the sample used was representative of the target population or not. It follows that the findings of these surveys cannot be applied to the member of the population without reservations.

Another issue with the argument is that the writer assumes that manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances that are almost two times as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. This sentence can merely crash the argument to destruction. First of all, the writer mentioned manufacturers but there is no testimony how many are they? Maybe there are just 3 manufacturers that are marketing new home appliances with better energy efficiency. Even if it is assumed that all manufacturers are doing this change, there is still another problem with this change. Are all the people able to change their home appliances and renew them? Of course not! The second problem with this sentence is that the writer said “twice as energy efficient as” which this announcement does not delivery that more efficient devices use less electricity. Maybe these more efficient devices like refrigerators can just maintain foods fresh for more days than the previous ones can do. Therefore, these statements cannot come up with less electricity consuming.

A third problem with the argument is that the writer purposes that things remain the same over twenty years. However, in most cases this is not true. Twenty years ago, some devices such as laptops, dishwashers, TVs, and etc. were not existed in wide range that they are now. In this order, they consumed less electricity than they are utilizing now. Hence, not only the number of these devices has been increased, but also they utilize more electricity base on their increase in number.

In the final analysis, the writer’s conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weakness already referred to are all removed.