In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is lacking in evidences to support its conclusions. It talks about two studies conducted in Waymarsh about its citizen's reading habits. The argument states that the respondents in the first study must have misrepresented that they prefer literary classics due to the results of the second survey which shows that the most checked out books from each of the public libraries were of mystery genre. The following passages examine the assumptions that led to this conclusion.

The first assumption is that the second survey is reliable while the first one is not. We do not know the scope and validity of both the surveys. It could have been very much possible that the researchers might have made a mistake in the second survey. Although it does state that the second survey was conducted in all public libraries, we cannot be sure how many libraries encompass "all". It could be only two, in which case the researchers could have easily made a mistake. We also cannot be sure that these libraries have been properly mainitaining their records, especially if the logs were maintained by hand rather than using computers. This could have contributed to the researchers' error.

The implication made by the author of the argument that the users of the public library is representative of the people of Waymarsh leaves us with the following questions. Do the majority of citizens use the public libraries? Are the researchers not taking into account any bookstores or second-hand bookshops that might be the citizens' preference? That would explain the popularity of literary classics. What if the public libraries were close to only a few colonies in Waymarsh? This would account for a large fraction of the population not using the public libraries. The author's argument would be better supported if he/she used studies based on the above factors as well.

Furthermore, even if the public library was used by almost all the people and their logs are reliable, it can be the case that the library does not have enough literary classics. Maybe the people looking for classics are unable to find them due to their dearth. That could be one of the explanations for the conclusion from the second survey. Since their public libraries might not have the classics that the people need, they could have found alternative sources for the same. If this turns out to be the case, then it would have been preposterous to assume that the people had misrepresented their own reading preferences.

Thus, the argument is rife with holes and assumptions. If the assumptions prove unwarranted, it could discredit the author's conclusion. The author must present a more detailed research (and be sure to check its validity) before forming such conclusions.