The following appeared in a recommendation from the President of the Amburg Chamber of Commerce.

"Last October, the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined almost immediately. The city of Amburg, on the other hand, recently instituted police patrols on bicycles in its business district. However, the rate of vandalism here remains constant. Since high- intensity lighting is clearly the most effective way to combat crime, we recommend using the money that is currently being spent on bicycle patrols to install such lighting throughout Amburg. If we install this high-intensity lighting, we will significantly reduce crime rates in Amburg."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the argument made by the President of the Amburg Chamber of Commerce, crime rate can be reduced in Amburg by using the money currently being spent for bicycle patrols to install high-intensity lighting. He/she makes such an argument based on the assumption that, since in the city of Belleville, installation of high-intensity lighting reduced vandalism almost immediately, the same effect can be observed in Amburg as well - not only that, crime rate in Amburg can also be reduced significantly. The argument is lacking in adequate evidences to support its conclusion. Thus, the following questions need to be answered.

Building on the implication that vandalism reduced in Belleville after installing high-intensity lighting will have the same effect in Amburg, vis-a-vis reducing crime, we can come up with the following questions. Maybe the city of Belleville already has police patrols on bicycles and thus, installing the lights were helpful to the bike patrols, resulting in reduced rate of vandalism. Are there any other measures taken by the city of Belleville to reduce vandalism? Perhaps the city of Belleville has issued neighbourhood watches. Were there any initiatives with similar agenda started in Belleville? Answering these questions will help to make it clear that the high-intensity lights are the cause for reduction in vandalism, and the only cause.

Furthermore, the author goes so far as to say that high-intensity lights will help to reduce crime. Not just vandalism, crime as a whole. This is a very far-reaching assumption. Did the overall crime rate reduce in Belleville? That may not be true. Maybe only the vandalism rates decreased. Or even if it is true, that could mean a multitude of things. Maybe Belleville has already reduced crime rates for crimes other than vandalism. Is vandalism Amburg's greatest problem? Are there other crimes that need to be addressed first? If the answer is yes, then measures have to be taken to reduce overall crime, not just focus on vandalism.

From the previous paragraph, we can note another assumption. The argument states that bike patrols have had no effect on vandalism. Is it possible that bike patrol has helped reduce other forms of crime such as petty theft, burglary or worse, murders? If it is so, then allocating the money given to bike patrols for installing high-intensity lighting is going to be counterproductive. Thus, the imapct of bike patrol on overall crime rate has to be studied.

The argument is rife with holes and assumptions. Thus, only upon answering the above-mentioned questions, proper decision should be taken.