The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura- Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author presents a series of arguments in which he or she suggests that the company discontinue the use of its patented Endure manufacturing process because the author believes that the profits of the company will increase by doing so. However, these implications cannot be accepted axiomatically. The company has to strategically decide whether this would be the best move, for which the argument needs evidence which it is lacking. In the following three paragraphs, we examine how any evidences would help weaken or strengthen the argument.

Right off the bat, the author begins by stating the inferences of a study. Although this study and its results have to be accepted as true, we can question the scope and validity of the study. More evidence is needed on whether the study was actually conducted by involving a large number of customers, and whether these customers are not a homogenous group. Such an evidence can be a huge factor, in case it is negatory. What it means is that, if the study was done on a few people and they all happened to belong to just one particular area, then the study cannot be considered as an underlying factor on which the hypothesis is based.

Furthermore, the author also states that the Dura-Socks have been marketed majorly using their patented manufacturing process. Further evidence is needed on whether the reason their customer base exists is because of this. Although the author states that their largest market, northeastern United States does not really care about the manufacturing process and they care more about the semblance, the other areas which have not been studied may differ. Maybe the customer base in every other area cares about the manufacturing process, which is why their current process has been successful so far. Unless there is evidence to prove otherwise, it would be a bad idea to throw away the essence of what made Dura-Socks successful.

Finally, nowhere in the argument has the author provided any proof that discontinuing the Endure manufacturing process will increase the company's profits. Evidence in the form of budget reports, analysis by market experts are all needed. If there is evidence to prove the fallacy of the last point, then discontinuing the process could mean a huge fiduciary loss for the company. On the other hand, if the market experts agree that the manufacturing process is rather a hindrance to the company's revenue, it would strengthen the argument originally made by the author. Thus, careful evaluation is needed.

The argument is rife with holes and assumptions, as stated above. The various points must be carefully reviewed and the company can then make an informed decision on whether or not to do away with their patented manufacturing process.