Super screen movie attendance is down but positive reviews are greater. People don't know about the positive reviews so more of the budget should be spent on advertising

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company argues that despite a greater precentage of positive reviews about their movies the attendance to them is declining. Therefore, it is recommended that more of the company's budget should be allocated to advertising to inform the public about the high quality of movie the company is making. On its face this argument and recomendation may seem sound but evaluating it requires many questions to be answered and much more evidence into the validity of the claim.

The first point the advertising director makes is that fewer people are attending Super Screen movies than ever before. To understand this point more context is needed. A good first question to ask is about the attendance to all movies, and if Super Screen movies are getting a better or worse percentage of that auidence. If overall movie going has declined the problem may be not be with the publics awareness of the quality movies Super screen is producing. Perhaps the movie going experinence is out of peoples budget. Information on the economy and on wage growth vs movie ticket prices would help evaluate if this is a contributing factor to the falling attendance to Super Screen and or other movies. Perhaps the decline is due to shifting desires, people may be valuing more interactive activities. If this is the case the company would need to innovate the movie going experience to attract its consumers back. Should super screen movies be getting a greater percentage of all attendance this would draw into question the director's recomendation as it would suggest that the decline really is a larger problem than public awarness of their movies.

Along those lines it is important to understand the overall media landscape. As streaming becomes more and more popular, and is more affordable than going to the theatre it is important to investigate this as a possible cause or solution. The greater amount of content means people have more opitions and can find content that is exactally what they are looking for. It is possible that Super Screen is making great content but that it is just not appealing to people who can find stories that resonate more directly. Super screen may need to look at their content and see if it matches with the changing values and interest of society. Further they must question if their movies are still getting the same number of eyes but just in new formats that they may not be counting. If they aren't counting streaming numbers or online rentals they may be underestimating their audience. Compounding this one stream, rental, or purchase of the movie may be seen by multiple people. If this is the case the budget may need to be reallocated to find ways of driving more views on such platforms.

Finally, the company needs to question where these good reviews are coming from. They may be coming from critics who are overwhelmingly white men. Their opinions may not reflect that of society as a whole. Movies highly praised in the festivals often have gotten harsh criticism when more diverse auidence have a change to view them. It may be that reviews are coming from paid social media influencers and do not reflect reality.

The advertising director may be correct in the assesment of the proplem and solution. However with the information provided it is unclear of how well the recomendation will work or if the correct problem was defined. More questions need to be asked, more context provided, and more evidence needed to evaluate the cl