There should be a national curriculum until college

It is vital for any nation to ensure the education of its youth. Nations must ensure their students are prepared for the demands of work as well as becoming well rounded citizens who can lead. Countries may take different approaches to developing their curriculum. One such way is to require one national curriculum up until college. This apporach has some benifits which should be held onto but there are also drawbacks that can be addressed.

One national curriculum ensures all students of any background recieve the same level of education. All who go onto college will have the same base knowledge which can ease the demands on college professors who might otherwise have to accomidate many different levels within one class. Students from less advantageous backgrounds will have an easier transition to college knowing that their classmates have had the same curriculum. One national curriculum can also ensure that every student has basic knowledge in many important fields. A well designed national curriculum will prepare students for all aspects of life, not just academic success. To be truely sucessful it should inculde personal finaces, taxes, basic domestic skills, and social skills; thus ensuring well rounded students who are prepared to meet the demands of adult life.

Conversely, one national curriculum may stifle some students. Not every person has the same talents, passions, or abilities. Forcing everyone down the same path may hamper those who are more creative or better at working with their hands. An education system should allow all students space to explore what they are passionate about and develop skills that will be useful towards their future career path. A society needs those with all types of skills some very cognitive and some very hands on. A well designed education system allow students to find what type of work suits them best and prepare them with those skills. A national curriculum through high school will not allow for that type of exploration and differentation. Forcing kids to make hard decisions with little knowledge in a rapid manner.

The best system, in my opinion, would be one that starts with the same curriculum and as students age gives more and more freedom to explore and specialize. This type of system would ensure a basic knowledge level of all citizens but also encouarge all students to find their niche. Ensuring all job types be filled in the future.