SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This argument is based on a number of unwarranted assupmptions. First it makes the assumption that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, simply because there has been a surge in the number of homeowners in Corporate ville. Second, it depends on the assumption that Corporateville is less urban than Middlesburg. Finally, it makes the unsuported argument that Corporateville is safer and cheaper than Middlesburg.

As previously mentioned, this argument is flawed because it assumes that the surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville makes Coprorateville a superior place to live than Middlesburg. Considering the argument does not provide information on the number of homeowners in Middlesburg relative to Corporateville, nor does it provide data on changes in the housing market, it is difficult to conclude from this fact alone that Corporateville is a better place to live than Middlesburg. In fact, the surge in homeowner numbers might easily be linked to a recently flourishing economy. Also, even if it was linked to Corporateville becoming a better place to live, there is no evidence that it surpasses Middlesburg in that area.

This argument is also flawed because it depends on the assumption that Corporateville is less urban than Middlesburg. Again, the argument does not provide any evidence for this argument, rendering it moot. Corporateville might easily be just as urban or even more urban than Middlesburg. Further, even if Corporateville was in fact less urban than Middlesburg, no information is provided on the demographics of this survey. It is difficult to gauge whether the survey responses were actually representative of SuperCorp's employees. For instance, if mostly older managers answered this survey, when the company usually employs a majority of younger employees, this survey would not reflect the views of the majority of SuperCorp's employees.

Finally, the argument makes the unsuported argument that Corporateville is not only safer but also cheaper than Middlesburg, based on Corporateville having lower taxes. Not only does the argument not provide any evidence that Corporateville is in fact safer, but it also incorrectly assumes that lower taxes make the city cheaper. For instance, there is no mention about the cost of living and daily expenses in Corporateville relative to Middlesburg. Had the argument supported its claims with evidence, and data on the aforementioned costs, it would have been much stronger.

In conclusion, this argument is flawed for a number of reasons. It makes a number of assumptions that needed to be backed up by data. For this reason, it is difficult to say whether SuperCorp actually made the best decision.