SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

The move from SuperCorp of its headquarters to Corporateville is not supported by the argument given which depends on the flawed assertions that Corporateville is superior, employees prefer to live in a non-urban area, and that Corporratevillei s safer than Middlesburg. The argument that SuperCorp moving its headquarters to CorporateVille is flawed with a myriad of issues, including flawed reasoning in increasing homeowners equating to a superior place, an employee survey that could have a questionable methodology, and lower taxes link to a safer place to work or a cheaper place to work.

The reasoning that a recent surge in homeowners makes CorporateVille superior to Middlesburg is flawed because it is based upon the assumption that more people buying a home at CorporateVille makes it a better place to live when there are other reasons that the number of homeowners is increasing. There could be a slump in real estate prices at CorporateVille increasing the demand for these houses. With an increased demand for houses at CorporateVille then it is natural that there would be an increase in homeowners. Another possiblity is Corporateville is a relatively new place to live compared to Middlesburg, so the amount of people looking to buy a home is high in Corporateville meaning that there would be a natural surge of homeowners as the market builds more homes to meet demand.

An employee survey showing that workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban could have a very flawed methodology. How was the question about living area phrased in the survey when it was given? It is possible that the question asked if workers if they preferred to live in a cheaper, rural area as opposed to an expensive, urban area, which may or may not be the case with Corporateville and Middlesburg. With additional adjectives put into the question to describe the choices the question would become flawed because it would influence the employee filling out the survey. The survey question could also give the employee a limited number of choices that do not represent the entire spectrum of choices. Did the survey ask employees specific names of urban areas or did it ask in general if they preferred an urban area? There are many ways that the survey given to employees by SuperCorp could be flawed and skew the results of the survey to give the false impression of workers preferring to work in non-urban areas.

Finally, linking CorporateVille taxes being lower than Middlesburg to an increase in safety does not make sense. There is no reasoning given for how a lower tax rate would increase the safety of a community. It would be easier to make the argument that an increase in taxes could help increase safety if that money was used to increase police presence and other measures to increase safety, however, the argument here appears to be the opposite. The argument also states that lower taxes make an area cheaper to work, but that statement relies on everything between Corporateville and Middlesburg to remain equal except tax rates. It is highly unlikely that these two communities are the exact same except for taxes. It is very possible that Corproateville has higher costs for items purchased from a local store, so the employees moving to Corporateville would have a higher cost of living than they previously did at Middlesburg, making Corporateville not a cheaper place to work than Middlesburg.

The argument that SuperCorp made the best decision in moving its headquarters to Corporateville is flawed because the argument relies on faulty logic in a surge of homeowners in Corporateville making it a superior place to live than Middlesburg, a potentially flawed survey, and linking lower taxes to a safer place to work and a cheaper place to work.