Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

When one thinks of technology, one tends to think about the difficulties it can create when it isn'Overall technology does make our lives simpler, even if it appears to be complicated for the person using the technology.

When one says that technology makes our lives complicated, it evokes images of people sitting at a computer trying to print a document, or connect to a web page, and that person seeing on their screen that the computer cannot connect to the printer or the dreaded 404 error message on the internet browser. While this may seem to make a person's life more complicated because they need to fix the issue, it is only a symptom of how humans' lives have been made simpler. It is now much simpler and less complex to recreate a document. Instead of scribes working diligently by candlelight to painstaking copy one character after another, or using a printing press, itself a new technology when it was invented, and carefully arranging the charcters to recreate a work; we can now simply press Ctl + P on a document and it will automatically print a hardcopy for us, or we can connect to the internet and share it as a document for people to open from their own computers. This makes our lives simpler and less complex, because it vastly assists with completing different tasks. This is not to say that computer issues cannot complicate our lives, because when we do run into an issue it feels like we spend far longer fixing the issue and it produces feelings of anger and annoyance until IT can come resolve the issue. However, the simplifiction of sharing information is enormous compared to the level of complexity it introduces when it does not work as we would always desire.

Another way in which technology has simplified our lives is through how we travel and move products. The method of travel was originally using one's feet, and placing one foot in front of another. If one wanted to bring goods to trade then they would either need to carry it themselves, or use a domesticated animal. While this may be a simple method of travel, it is inefficent and would require a complex amount of planning of how far one could go in a day, and where they would stop before reaching their destination. All of this would need to be done without the use of the internet, thus increasing the complexity of planning a trip, because the information was not just a google search away. Nowadays we have mass transit hubs such as ports, train stations, air ports, and highways. These all make travel and moving products simpler, because there are designated areas for travel, meaning that everyone is aware of where they need to go in order to travel to a different area. Moving goods is also simpler, because of the ability to transport massive quantities of goods from one side of the world to another. All of the trinkets and gadgets that are stamped "Made in China" is possible because of the ability to move products around the globe with cargo ships. While the systems that are put in place to manage this type of travel may appear complex and different to understand, without them our lives would be much more complex, because we would need to find the information and figure out how to travel without the ease of knowing where the mass transit areas are located, and where we could find a product to buy that is unique to a country thousands of miles away.

Overall, while technology may itself be complex and sometimes difficult to use, its effects on our lives are to greatly simplify them.