In survey's Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favourite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The state's initiative for cleaning the Mason river so that it can again be used by the residents for recreational activities does sound encouraging and may be successful. The arguments cites a survey reporting that people in Mason City rank water sports among their recreational activities, however, due to the filthy river conditions they are not able to use the river for these activities. Further the argument posits that the state must allocate more money for the task of cleaning the river. However, these claims appear rash due to several logical and statistical flaws.

Firstly, the claim that the use of the river for recreational activities would increase is dependent on a survey conducted. However, the argument nowhere mentions when was the survey conducted. Since people's complaints about the river have been ignored by the authorities for several years, it might be possible that the residents may have found another place where they could enjoy such activities.

Secondly, it might be possible that over the years people's interests may have changed for swimming, boating or fishing to other recreational activities due to lack of access to the river for some years. In this case starting the cleaning process for making the river fit for such activities might go in vain.

Thirdly, the claim asking the city government to allocate more money for cleaning the river might be too rash. Since the city park department was allocating a little chunk of its budget it might be the case that there might be some surplus money in other projects that might be useful to fund the river cleaning exercise. It may also be the case that cleaning of the river may not require more money and could be done under the existing amount of funds.

Overall, the argument made may be untrustworthy and may lead to inefficient decisions. The claim assuring the use of Mason River for recreational activities could be made stronger by redoing a survey to get a perception of the current interests of the residents in the mentioned recreational activities. In addition to this, a proper budget must be made keeping in mind the projected costs for cleaning the river. Following this, a report comprising of the current surplus funds with the city park department must be created to get a hold of whether any more money is needed for the project. All this being done, an informed decision and action plan must be proposed that would guide the river cleaning project.