Every individual in a society has the responsibility to obey laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Laws are a set of principles that define the limits and powers of an individual inside an organisation. Laws are meant to ensure peaceful and ethical functioning of the organisation. Laws provide a comprehensive set of procedures to settle disputes in a way that ensures fairness to all. Laws must provide an equal opportunity to everyone to express their thoughts and thus I feel that laws must be strictly followed and voice must be raised against law enforcing agencies if misuse of power is taking place.

When human communities started to emerge, it was felt that a system of laws were required to settle grievances in a way that does not encroach upon the rights of others. Thus over time governance evolved from tribal heads to rulers to an elected government. The purpose of a government is to ensure the welfare of the citizens. It must pass laws to ensure peace and harmony in the society. Thus it becomes the responsibility of every individual living to accept and obey laws passed by the governing body.

Secondly, since the people elect the government, they have the right to question and demand reforms from the elected government. As the popular saying by Abraham Lincoln goes, 'the government is of the people, by the people and for the people', the citizens have a right to demand reforms from the government, as with changing times the needs of people change and a successful government is one which takes into account all the pros and cons of the demands of people and passes the required amendments.

It is quite common that power leads to corruption. Concentrating power in the hands of a few can lead to misuse and eventually conversion to dictatorship. For example, in Germany, the people did not pay attention to the misuse of power by Hitler but when they did and started questioning, he crushed everybody who stood against him. Thus it is the responsibility of the citizens to demand answers for the reforms made by the elected government. It is the responsibility of the citizens to stay vigilant and know their basic rights to question and take a stand against any oppressive law that tries to harm the well-being or goes against the legal framework of the country.

All in all, since the people choose their leaders, it is also their responsibility to ensure that the authority is doing what they were elected for and not manipulating the legal framework for their own greed. Only vigilant people make a better country.