As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely decrease.

The developments in technologies have increased the capabilities of a normal human being. Technology has enabled us to achieve things that people would have dreamt of many years back. If we take a close look at the daily routine of an individual, we can clearly observe that humans have become completely dependent on technology for accomplishing various tasks during the day. Technology has provided us an efficient way of life, saving our time by making human involvement and effort redundant. Some may think that technology promotes the problem solving abilities as humans are the ones who develop such technologies, however, I am of a different thought that technology is in fact deteriorating the thinking skills of humans.

To see the effect technology is having on our brains, we need to look at the children of the current generation. These children have grown up interacting with modern technology. Children from the beginning of their formative years are using technologies like the internet to find solutions to mathematical problems or for writing essays etc. The ease of availability of such resources is discouraging children to come up with solutions. This is killing the imaginative and creative thinking capabilities in the upcoming generations. Consequently, it would curb the development of higher order thinking and cognitive skills in these children. Solving problems through technology in future would require an even higher intellect than the current scenario due to the increased complexities of issues to be solved.

In addition to that, technology has not reached a point till now that it may be termed as completely reliable. Researchers and scientists may have developed autonomous technologies like self-driving automobiles or airplanes, however, they still need human supervision to operate. For example, in the scenario of an autonomous vehicle, if the technology operating the vehicle fails then it is upto the abilities and skills of the humans to take control of the situation and save the lives of the passengers that might be inside the vehicle. If we completely ignore imparting such skills to people and leave it to technology to do the thinking then the dangers might increase.

Some may still believe that technology enhances human intellect as it promotes an efficient lifestyle, however, they forget taking into account that the people they talk about grew up when technological advancements were not so mainstream. To get a real picture they must closely look at the cognitive skills of the current generation that is growing up and imparting a huge portion of their time to technology.