In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up the Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues that if the Mason City government increases the budget allocated for maintaining the Mason River and the recreational activities thereof, then the residents will flock to the river to enjoy said facilities. While this argument seems straight-forward and cogent on the surface, on closer observation, it is easy to see the obvious fallacies in the argument and in the underlying assumptions.

To begin with, the author cites surveys where the city residents ranked water sports among their favorite recreational activities. However, the author fails to mention crucial details about these surveys such as the time when they were conducted and the range of the population surveyed. The residents clearly have other favorite activities which they may prefer over water sports, in which case the work done on Mason River may not be alluring to them at all.

Furthermore, the author states that residents have been complaining about the river's derelict state for years. However, there is no evidence that these complaints have been voiced by the same residents who enjoy water sports. It may well be that the residents who have been complaining have no interest in water sports; they may have other reasons such as the river being an eyesore or a public health hazard. They might be concerned about the ecological health of the river. While these reasons do warrant a clean-up, they certainly do not warrant increased expenditure on riverside recreational facilities.

Moreover, it does not appear as if the government has thought through its plans for the clean-up. It is assumed that the clean-up would be a one-time task. Funds are planned to be devoted to maintaining the recreational facilities. Does this maintenance include regular clean-ups as well? The sources of the river water pollution have not been investigated. If, say, there are factories releasing untreated effluents into the water, then a one-time clean-up is effectively moot. Will the government allocate funds to hold the factories answerable and make them cease their practices? Alternatively, if the residents themselves are largely responsible for the river's condition, will funds be allocated for public education and awareness? Even assuming that these are not the causes for the pollution, the manmade damage from the recreational activities such as littering, fuel burning, ecological imbalances due to excessive fishing themselves may call for continuous maintenance and monitoring. One-by-one, these costs add up quickly and may overwhelm the budget that the government plans to set aside.

Evidently, while the author's argument is well-intended, it lacks crucial backing evidence and is rife with over-reaching assumptions. It would be rather risky to go ahead with investing government time, money, and other resources without conducting further research so as to ensure that, once rejuvenated, the river will veritably be used sustainably for the intended purposes.