The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When was the last time you stopped to smell the roses? When was the last time you took a beat to enjoy whatever it was that you were doing, however mundane? The statement that life in the fast track as it is today, has given birth to more problems that it meant to solve, which in my opinion, is mostly true for three reasons.

Firstly, modern human life is rife with problems that arose out of the attempts of our ancestors to make life more convenient. However, these attempts, while objectively fruitful, have created new problems of their own. Take for instance, transportation. From walking to horse-buggies to cars to airplanes, transportation means have come a long way. Driving this wildly unprecedented innovation was the need to travel faster and more comfortably. Unequivocally, the goal has been achieved - but at what cost? Today, cities are riddled with traffic jams and the resulting pollution. Cars have been deemed to one of the most potent causes of climate change, and humans the world over are engaged in coming up with solutions to make transportation sustainable. Thus, while we set out to solve one problem, we have invented a few others in the process.

Secondly, technology is ever-evolving and can never be deemed to be perfected. One of the reasons behind this is that while technology is a problem-solver, it is also a problem-creator. Consider the evolution of computer processors. Moore's law states that the speed of processors doubles approximately every two years. Ask any computer enthusiast and they will tell you how this fact has precipitated into unbelievable leaps in computing speed and capabilities. But there is always a flip side. Processor chips tend to heat up when they work. Higher the processing speed, faster the heat up. Hence the rise in processor speed has to be matched with an adequate cooling system that keeps the chip from burning up. The cooling system often comes in the form a fan which makes the CPU case bulky. Manufacturers of computer parts are now engaged in coming up with more compact designs for the CPU case. As you can see, in the process of solving the original problem of processor speed, much like a Russian doll, a slew of newer problems were created.

Thirdly, the rapid pace of life today is the result of years and years of people trying to cut corners on time, so that we may free up time for other leisurely pursuits. However, that is arguably the case. The modern parent wakes up at dawn and helps themselves to their instant coffee machine. For the kids' breakfast, they could make an elaborate conventional breakfast, or reach for the easily available, high-brand cereal that is almost, if not entirely, equally nutritious. While they finish their own bowl, they pull out their mobile device and check their calendar and emails to get a head-start for the day. At work, they gobble up their lunch so that they may leave early and see their family - only to come home to find that the kids have been assigned a deluge of homework because the school thinks it's just not enough in today's fast-paced world and the kids need a head-start. It seems all of the time that we are racing through life trying to catch up on time but we never do.

To conclude, all our efforts to make life easier have introduced new unexpected complexities. It is a cycle that feeds into itself. One may argue that life today is much easier than, say, life in the medieval times. But it is important to consider that we have simply been able to alleviate older problems, but in their place they have created newer problems that are just as cumbersome.