In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports swimming boating and fishing among their favorite recreational activities The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits however and the city park department devotes little of i

While it may be true that the city authorities should invest in the riverside leisure facilities, the author’s argument does make a cogent case for the reason why it benefits to citizens.

We should acknowledge that the writer mentions about the survey, but he/she does not provide the data regards to water activity demand of the citizens. The author shows that the river is seldom used for outside activities along with the responsible department lacks of caring about the riverside facilities. However, it is not relevant to why the government should give the money for embellishing the river surrounding. More importantly, the message notice the available infrastructures in both sides of the river; however, it does not provide the performance of them is good or bad.

When the argument comes to the quality of water, the odor can reduce the aggregation of inhabitants around the river. In other words, the dweller scare that the smell and quality of the river will affect their health as well as the river status is not suitable for water sports. However, there are not clearly evident that the usage of the river will increase when the government devote the budget to improve and equip both sides of the river.

Beside that, the writer does not explain precisely why does the city ought to give the money in this year. For simple term, she/he writes that the state has recently confirmed plan to improve the river quality, but it does not recognize when it will be started as well as when it will be finished. Therefore, it gives a question: “Should the authorities give a budget in this year?”.

In the light of these facts, the author should provide more convincing information to persuade the people from the power, such as provide more relative data about the demand of riverside activities in the survey or the benefits if the city devotes to the riverside facility.