In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and

fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing

through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park

department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational

facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the

quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has

recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water

sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that

reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational

facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated

assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends

on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove

unwarranted.

The residents of mason city show great interest in recreational water sports activities such as swimming, boating, and fishing. The city park department who are responsible for maintaining the river of Mason city announced that they would initiate the cleaning of the river, after receiving many complaints about the water quality of the river from the residents. Since the city park had announced this the author of the question also suggests that the said authorities should also set aside some of their budgets in order to improve and maintain the conditions of the recreational facilities at the city’s river.

The budget that the city park officials have is not determined therefore assumed to have enough funds to both clean the river water and aggrandize the water-based recreational facilities. Although it is said that the residents of Mason city have immense interest in water-based sports, the fact that those same people might be into talking and discussing the sport and not actually playing them might be a possibility, therefore assuming the residents do play those sports in the river’s water.

With the above framework being defined it is appropriate and appreciated by the city people to improve the recreational facilities of the riverside. This also could be a hub to many water sport enthusiasts to try their hand or play the sport for fun. This could also open up some employment positions in order to maintain these said facilities.

To re-articulate, the idea to devote some of the city park’s budget seems captivating and Mason city will be known to aver over the water sports activities.

There are possibilities that this argument would not work, and consequently be a loss for the city park’s officials. If there exists another water sports hub in a cosmopolitan area then Mason city can act as an alternative for people who wants to experience water sports in terms of appointments, price, distance from a place to Mason city, and more. If employees are not found for maintaining the facilities then the people of Mason City will be given some funding to maintain the facilities, since those same people have a genuine interest in water sports.

In the end, this argument could be a bombastic renovation or a simple local hotspot for water sports.