In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Based on the survey's results, city government officials have announced that Mason City River will be cleaned up because the residenst have complained about it's effluvium odor. In addition to this they will also devote money to riverside recreational facilities, because the local residents happen to share an interest in recreational sports (swimming, boating, and fishing). The Hygen of the river is certainy an urgent matter that needs to be fixed. However, this survey is not enough to conclude that devoting more money for recreational facilites, will result in more usuage of the river.

The survey concluded one important thing, that the Mason Ciy river has a foul odor, and because of this, it is assumed that, this is the reason why the river isn't being used, let alone for recreational water sport. The suvrvey does not mention the reason why the the river has that foul smell, perhaps, there is a liquid to keep the water clean, and maybe that is the reason for the smell. Also, when it comes the recreational sports, the survey is not specific enough in which we assume that the people interviewed were asked if they actually did the water sport, or if it's something that they would be intered in doing. There is difference between saying it, an being and active water sports ahtlete. This is not concrete enough to make a drastic change towards putting more money into recreational facilities, and assume that people will use it for water sports.

City government officials did the right thing in doing the survey to see what the city needs to have alterated. They are also right to clean up the river, and do something about the smell.However this survey does no justice for the peaen of a recreational facility.The survey needs to be more specific, have different options of contoversial topics within the town in regards to what other changes need to be done to benefit the city and it's residents. Perhaps, the local libray needs some construction update, or the local schools need some adjustments. An open pannel should determine these types of issues, and then preceeded by a survey in which residents can confidently choose what to do the monetary funds.

This blanket statement need further investigation to expand on what to do with the city's monetary funds. They are in the right path by, starting with adjustments for Mason City River. However, assuming that by creating a recreational facility for water sports, will benefit the city, is not enough based on the ambiguos survey.