In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The city government’s argument that they should devote more money to riverside recreational facilities is lacking in sound reasoning. While the city could possibly increase riverside activity, the government is hasty to make assumptions about the town’s preferences and complaints, and in doing so, jumps to a fundamentally flawed conclusion.

Firstly, the Mason City government is assuming that the survey data received is accurate and representative of the town’s preferences. While it may very well be true that swimming, boating, and fishing are preferred activities of townspeople, it is not necessarily the case. It is certainly likely that only a small fraction of the population participated in the survey, and mostly likely, only adult’s results were recorded. If this were true, then water sports may not be nearly as popular amongst residents as the data suggests. By assuming that the entire population’s preferred sports were accurately ranked, the government may be making an overdrawn assumption about the proportion of the population who would potentially engage in riverside activities.

Additionally, the argument states that the majority of complaints have pertained to water quality and a noxious odor. The government uses this fact to leap to the conclusion that this must be the reason that residents do not engage in water activities in Mason City, and therefore, cleaning the river will assuage these complaints, thereby increasing riverside sport participation. It is possible that even if the city succeeds in eliminating the unpleasant odor and improving water quality, residents will remain uninterested in using the water for unrelated reasons. For example, the water could be unsuitable for swimming if there are too many rocks, or dangerous for boating if the current is too strong. Further, if residents truly enjoy water activities, they are likely seeking them out elsewhere. Improving water conditions may not be a sufficient motivator for water aficionados to abandon their favorite locals. In assuming that the water remains unused for sporting only because of the cited reasons in complaints, the city’s efforts to increase use by cleaning the water could be misguided.

Lastly, even if the city’s previous assumptions are valid, and the majority of residents thoroughly enjoy water sports and only refrain from doing so due to water quality and smell, increasing the budget for facilities could be a mistake. Even if Mason City residents suddenly decide to go swimming and boating in their hometown, the money may not be necessarily best-used for improving facilities such as bathrooms and changing areas. It is possible that increased activity could require more funds dedicated to staff and safety oversight.

While it is possible the city government is correct in adjudicating for the increased budget dedicated to waterside facilities, the assumptions drawn from the available information lead to a dangerous and logically flawed conclusion. In order to justify their cause, the government must verify the representativeness of the survey data, confirm the reasons the river is not currently used for water sports, and consider alternative budgetary allocations.