Pursuing a financially stable career tends to inhibit creativity and innovation.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In our increasingly technology-driven world, the issue of creativity in the workplace is a popular topic of discussion. It is a common misperception that those who choose financially lucrative careers give up opportunities for artistic growth and innovation. In fact, pursuing jobs associated with monetary gains can foster creativity both within and outside of the work environment.

Entering into a fiscally stable job can oftentimes not only provide opportunity for creativity, but can also require imagination. Firstly, not all artists are starving. Many of the most popular, successful performing artists are paid just as well as workers in more traditional fields, such as lawyers and bankers. Yuja Wang, for example, a world-renowned pianist rakes in a few million dollars a year performing on an international concert circuit. Additionally, the typical salary for the highest-ranking dancers in the New York City Ballet is estimated at about two hundred thousand dollars a year, comparable to an associate attorney’s salary at a high-paying New York City corporate law firm. It is simply wrong to assume that all artistically-driven careers are financially unstable.

Furthermore, many office jobs not commonly perceived as creative, increasingly encourage workers to pursue activities that will bring innovative ideas to the table. Many technology firms, for example, provide on-the-job opportunities for their employees to engage in problem-solving activities with colleagues to stimulate creative thinking. Google provides brainstorming sessions for account executives where employees engage in friendly games of ping pong with each other to blow off steam and bounce ideas off each other. Law firms also facilitate creative problem-solving by allowing workers freedom to re-organize the structure of legal briefs. The growing technology field not only provides for an increasing amount of imaginative thinking in the workplace, but also more “traditional” jobs encourage out-of-the-box solutions to common problems.

Those who fear that our society is drifting away from creative capability may argue that workers with artistic capabilities are often lured from creative pursuits by monetary gains in more traditional careers. While it is clear that not all financially lucrative careers are devoid of imaginative freedom, this argument similarly ignores opportunities that lie outside of the workplace. Engaging in a job that does not allow for artistic capability does not limit a person’s potential for contributing to an innovative society. Citizens have possibilities to pursue extracurricular activities including online journaling or participating in art classes. Furthermore, philanthropists and museum-goers facilitate creative exchange by supporting and engaging in artistic enterprises without having to pursue an imaginative job themselves.

While fiscally-stable careers might be considered a hindrance to one’s creative potential, most contemporary jobs not only provide opportunities for artistic exploration, but also require workers to solve problems creatively. Additionally, while some artists are paid extremely well, pursuing a more traditional, financially sound career does not mean forgoing creative freedom within or beyond the workplace. In a society where technology is increasingly challenging what we believe possible, an innovative mindset will prove even more valuable in the future.