The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you either agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the evolving nature of political prowess in the United States and in countries across the globe, ideas about competent leaders in government are at the forefront of conversation. In electing those to leadership positions, debates about who are the most fit to lead their respective countries to greatness are increasingly divisive. The focus of leadership potential on individual characteristics is outright misguided, for it is not these inherent personal characteristics that differentiate truly great political leaders in the minds of the public, but rather, it is how they respond to the hurdles they face during their tenures.

This fact is most obviously observed when considering the history of the “greatest” political leaders. The politicians who are most revered are those who have shown strength and success in adverse, noteworthy situations. Take for example, some of our most notable United States Presidents. George W. Bush is not honored for his family background, or his friendliness with his cabinet members, but for his strong leadership and consolation of the American people after September 11th. Abraham Lincoln, considered one of the most honorable United States Presidents, is remembered for his leadership and strength through the Civil War. The legacy he endured from emancipating American slaves was not a testament to his personal beliefs of civil liberties, but rather, was the result of an inevitable conclusion to a bloody battle. Those who tenures stand the test of time are marked by great challenges, often overshadowing any personal qualities.

Further, the trials and tribulations faced by any politician are what allow their inherent qualities to shine. The Dalai Lama, recognized as both a political and religious figure, is renowned for his miraculous forgiveness and tranquility as a result of the devastating destruction his community faced. The specific arduous situations that he has dealt with are what have made his personal attributes so remarkable. It is due to these challenges that we recognize his remarkable characteristics, not the other way around. Additionally, leaders whose personalities are not revered in the eyes of future generations are due to their responses to failed, or corrupt situations. President Nixon, for example, is remembered by Americans as callous and untrustworthy because of his corrupt practices and the scandals that resulted in his impeachment. It is a leader’s response to various challenges which allows his or her personal attributes to shine through.

While some might argue that strong performance on political fronts is determined by specific personal traits and skills, many political leaders in societies share common education, family background, and personality traits. Due to the fact that society often rewards those with certain skills and experiences, it is not these specific qualities that differentiate our greatest leaders, but rather, it is how the challenges that they face demonstrate their individual qualities.

History is a testament to the fact that our strongest leaders are most often venerated after their tenures. It is no coincidence that the leaders we remember the most were subjected to difficult or tumultuous periods, including wars, devastating attacks, or economic crises. The will and testament of leaders whose even-handedness, loyalty, and leadership capabilities are recognized are results of the challenges which made these qualities forefront in the minds of their constituents. Given the uncertain future of our political stage, we would do well to remind ourselves of these historical lessons.