“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The author of the newletter, is advicing to invest in 'Techcorporation' citing varoius reasons for same. The author claims that it is the first company in ten years, to compete with the current satellite provider. To further strengthen the advice, author putforths the data of a survey in which the consumers have portrayed a dissatification with their current television provider. Consdering all the arguments of author, the advice does look enticing, there still some questions that need to answered before investing the new venture.

Firstly, the author has not provided any detailed background of the new company like, by whom is being funded presently, the people behind this new venture, total evealuation of the company,etc. An investor needs to such basic details about a company before investing, especially if it is new company that is going to compete with an estabilished company which has a monopoly on the market. Knowing that the company has necessary resources and a right set of people to direct it would give the investors a mental piece of mind.

Secondly, author should have given some vital details like the startegy that the company is going to adopt to compete with a company having a monopoly in the market. Knowing that the company has a well laid-out plan to take-on the market, can make the investors confident about the success of the new venture.

Thirdly, the author fails provide some of the most basic details of the survey that was carried out last year. The author should have mentioned the size of survey, that is, the number of people who participated, region where the survey was carried out and most importantly the questions that were being asked in the survey. It could be possible that survey was carried out in a small particular area and the current satellite television provider has problems only in that area. Had the author given such details of the survey, the investor would have been more convinced with the survey results.

Lastly and most necessarily the author has not mentioned the investment plan to its clients. Considering that there are some risks involved in investments, author should have mentioned a much to invest would be safe for the investors.