Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The passage discusses two conflicting researches about child-rearing in certain islands by Dr. Field and Dr. Karp using observation-based and interview-based approach, respectively. Dr. Field's research from 20 years ago concluded that children in the Island of Tertia were reared by the whole village rather than their parents. On the contrary, Dr. Karp's recent study in a group of islands concluded that children spent most of the time talking about their parents. The passage suggests that further studies must be conducted to get a more accurate look on child-rearing practices in Island of Tertia via interview-based approach. However, the recommendation is based on the assumption that both the studies are comparable to each other and that interview-based method is superior to observation-based method.

Firstly, the two studies by the anthropologists are incomparable. This is because there is have a gap of about 20 years. In the 20 year span, it is possible that child-rearing practices have changed in the Island of Tertia. It would be unfair to compare a study that was conducted 20 years with a study conducted recently. Furthermore, the demographics of the studies conducted are different. Dr. Field's study was entirely conducted in the Island of Tertia whereas Dr. Karp's study was conducted in a group of islands that included the Island of Tertia. Dr. Karp generalizes it results to Island of Tertia. One cannot generalize his/her study especially when the testing environment is different.

Secindly, the author of the passage supports the interview-based method for conducting the study. However, the author does not provide evidence that the Dr. Karp's study was better and more accurate than Dr. Field's study. The is no evidence whether interview-based methods are actually better than observation-based methods. What if during the interview a child lies? A child might lie if he is forced by parents to give the interview. Generally, children are more interested in playing rather than giving interviews. A child that is forced to give interview is highly likely to answer questions without thinking so that he/she can finish the interview as soon as possible and then play his games.

In conclusion, the loopholes mentioned above must be answered before agreeing with the recommendation in the passage. In its current form, the recommendation lacks strong evidence to be considered.