Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he conclude ed from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it maybe true that interview-centered method is more reliable to obtain accurate information on child-rearing practices in Tertia island, the author’s argument doesn’t make a cogent case to compromise the result obtained from observation-centered approach. Some of the anthropologists might have reached this conclusion based on the recently conducted research by Dr. Karp, who challenges the result obtained from observation-centered approach of Dr. Field. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, are Dr. Karp and Dr. Field researches roughly comparable? In other words, will the two decades of time have no effect on the researches? It is possible that there might have been a significant amount of change in the Tertian culture—perhaps Tertian culture may also have adopted a new approach of child rearing in the past two decades. Theses researches were conducted in the span of twenty years. Further, Dr. Karp doesn’t explicitly explain that his research was conducted on the same people from which Dr. Field resolved his research. If different people were used for research, the output can be varied in accordance with people. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the result of the research significantly depends on persons rather than the technique used for research. This argument doesn’t provide enough strength to support the significance of interview-centered technique over observation-centered approach.

Second of all, was the interview-centered technique adopted by Dr. Karp has exhaustive research to suggest that children were raised by their biological parents? The author only suggests that the children spent much more time talking about the parents rather than other adults in the village. This doesn’t explain the fact that they were raised by their parents. It is believed that we talk about the things or people that we like or know about. Perhaps, the children like their parents more than their care-takers, hence talking more about their parents. If the above is true, then the argument doesn’t hold water.

Finally, can we draw the conclusion from the interview of children? In other words, are the children conscious enough to respond to the interview questions correctly? Children might not be able to answer the questions correctly. The children might also imitate their answers from their friends They lack the mind to understand the seriousness of the matter and might even present the information that are not entirely correct. If this is so, the result from the interview-centered technique might not be cent percent correct. However, since the observation-centered approach is conducted by a skilled and experienced person there is a minimum possibility of error. Hence, the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the questions above and offer more evidence (in the form of the systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to use the interview-centered technique rather than observation-centered approach to obtain accurate information on child-rearing practices of Tertia.