Two years ago our consultants predicted that West Egg s landfill which is used for garbage disposal would be completely filled within five years During the past two years however town residents have been recycling twice as much aluminum and paper as they

The author argument is based on the fact that the residents near by West Egg's landfill are heavily concentrating towards the recycling of aluminum and paper. Over 90% of respondents on the survey are certain that they will continue and even increase to recycling as the garbage pickup will double the charges. Because of this recycling the prediction made by consultants two years ago, that in five years West Egg's landfill will be completely filled will no longer hold true. Looking at the facts and the way they are presented it is believable that argument has strong point but however it is not persuasive as it is based on assumptions and doesn't have supported evidence.

First and foremost, the prediction that came out from the two consultants, were on the basis of any lab or on field experiment which they performed? Does the statistical report of the prediction has any proof which states that in coming 5 years West Egg's landfill will be filled up? Predictions are always based upon the historical data.

-How many number of features were considered while predicting?

-How many years of historical data was taken into account?

-At various time periods (over years), was the capacity of landfill considered?

-How much percent of population growth in the town was considered?

Secondly, author mentions that in past two years town residents have been recycling the waste twice as much as they did in previous years. It is assuming that town is recycling the waste for many years then was this fact taken into account while prediction. Argument states that in next month the recycling will be increased further , on what basis will this happen? Do we have any graph or evidence stating that every month the recycling increases when charges of garbage pickup increases? if not , this statement was also an assumption. For example, next month recycle rate might go down and in next to next it might go increase steeply giving out a steady/stable result for these two months.

Furtherly, author states, a recent survey said that residents would do more recycling in the future. Any past survey whose results can evidently show that residents committing to a cause will actually reflect in their actions, will be helpful here. Survey says residents will increase recycling , only aluminum and paper or will there be some other material which will be recycled because more or less total garbage having aluminum and paper will remain same and in order to increase recycling, which other material will be recycled by them.

In addition to this , migration of population is a normal habit observed in any town. What is the guarantee or who will be responsible enough to make sure that the new residents coming in will be following and be committed to this cause. This is assumed that new families coming in will be recycling the waste.

Conclusion, lab or on field experiments of landfill which will act as evidence for the prediction made by two consultants will be needed to better analyze. Give out the report which answers the questions about features, historical data, population of town considered, to cross verify the facts. Town might be recycling the waste for many years, was this scenario taken into account? Proof that town residents will abide by their commitment of recycling, will be helpful to rule out this is an assumption. Are residents considering to recycle any other material than aluminum and paper in order to increase the recycling of waste.