Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that if Medway radio station increases the number of call-in advice program, the number of radio listeners may increase. This author's argument does not make a cogent case. It is easy to understand that Rockville radio listeners are interested to the program but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions therefore, not strong enough to lead to increase the number of call-in advice programs in Medway radio station.

The author mentions that the number of radio audiences in radio station WCQP in Rockville has increased significantly in the past two years because of call-in advice program; however, there is no information about the statistic that can make a different perspective. Imagine the total number of radio listeners in Rockville was a hundred two years ago with ten people interested in call-in service program whereas the total number is two hundred and the interested call-in audiences are forty people now. As a result, it does not show the significate increase of radio listeners. Regardless of whether the major increase in Rockville radio listeners happened or not, the author does not provide enough statistic evidence to support the recommendation.

On the other hand, the author does not give any information about similarities and differences about radio audience’s population in Rockville and in Medway that it can make a big difference in predicted result. Rockville may have mostly retired listeners who have more free time to listen to the radio and call to the program. Subsequently, it could be a reason for increased number of interests. Nevertheless, the listeners to Medway may be generally young people who only have time to listen to the radio while they drive and do not have time to call-in. Considering the type of the audience of each radio station, the number of interested listeners to the program may not increase in Medway. To strengthen his/her proposal, the author needs to investigate about age and gender group of listeners.

Citing a national survey, the author reports radio listeners’ love of call-in program. It is not clear, however, the scope and validity of the survey. For example, the survey could have asked residents if they prefer call-in in the morning or in the evening which may have swayed residents toward call-in program. Unless the survey is fully representative, valid, and reliable, it cannot be used to effectively back the author’s argument.

The author can make his/her suggestion persuasive when he or she provides supporting demographic data of the subject radio stations’ audiences in addition to surveys questionnaire's. With such information, it can be concluded whether the taken approach by Rockville station would result in attracting more listeners to Medway radio station.