The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well rounded and charitable members of society The proposed graduation requ

The argument is flawed in some areas. Firstly the argument nowhere mentioned whether the local charities are in need of help with their services. It is nice to take the initiative to make the students well rounded and charitable members of the society But, What if local charities are already getting the sufficient help from the members of the community and there is no need of any extra hands. In such situation how are the students going to complete their graduation requirements which mentioned them to work for at least 8 hours per month for a total of 9 months and how the students are going to learn social responsibility. The argument just assumed that the charities are need of support in such case only it becomes valid.

The second issue with the argument is, it didn't mention anywhere on how the University of Wabash is going to keep track of the number of hours the student worked in a particular charity and they didn't say anything about if the students are going to get any credits or grade for their work-so that they can show to their future employees on how socially responsible they are. And what about the timings during which the students can work is it going to be during school hours or after school hours or maybe during weekends it is nowhere mentioned in the argument. The argument vaguely just said it is a requirement and needs to be completed but didn't give any further details.

The other issue with the argument is whether the University is going to allot the students into the local charities on their own randomly on basis of needs of charity or the students have any heresy on what charity they can work on, is not mentioned in the argument. Maybe there are some students who want to teach to the children of local schools ,some want to work to keep the community hygienic,some maybe want to feed the poor likewise there many charitable works that student wants to work on so is the University going to consider these interests.

The idea of building a responsible citizen of the society is great but the argument needs to give further details on how this is going to possible keeping in mind interests of everyone.