The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In an official letter the Vice president of Climpson Industries recommended the company’s president to implement electronic monitoring system of company’s employees’ to track their internet usage to improve their productivity and efficiency. As per the Company’s HR Vice president it is a ‘punishable’ crime to use company’s internet during work hours. However, this recommendation can be properly evaluated after considering three after effects and questions that may arise.

So firstly in an era of internet is it really possible to work without internet? In today’s world each and every sector of organizations, especially industries are very competitive and to be an active participant in the completion all the employee of an organization needs to be updated on what’s happening around the market. Is it really possible to be updated without internet. Not just to be updated even to complete a simple task or to learn a new thing, internet support is a must. For example, if someone wants to learn a new technique or to develop a new process he or she needs to learn about different methods first and make a comparison and to do so internet resources need to be explored first like google, youtube, wikipidia etc. If the usage of these critical websites are blocked then the productivity or innovation of the company will be reduced to a great extent and company will suffer a great loss.

Secondly, the VC of HR assumes that, employees use internet only for personal usage like gaming, shopping, entertainment etc. and waste their productive hours. Even if they do need to consider that is there any other options to mitigate this issue like blocking only some specific websites and specific contents of website to ‘control” their internet usage instead of fully ousting such an important resource. Because if that’s possible then instead of taking some exaggerated actions like ‘punishing’ the employees for the internet usage, some specifics sites maybe blocked to enhance their productivity.

Furthermore, another thing need to keep in mind that this kind of ‘rule’ might not be welcomed in the office. Employees can take it as privacy breach for the ‘monitoring movement’ of someone’s internet usage. Fair enough! So need to ensure if there has been any kind of discussion regarding the recommendation that if that’s acceptable to the employees. Because as a company you cannot progress much by triggering your employees. You need your employees trust and also you need to trust your employees as well to be a ‘good’ organization.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now still seems pretty flawed. Before considering to implement the recommendation some major consideration and after effects need to be evaluated first. Otherwise, the main purpose of ‘improving the work efficiency’ in the organization will go in vain.