The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggest that prohibition of computer use for recreational purpose such as online shopping, gaming will ameliorate working efficiency and profit generation. This is an intriguing idea and sounds reasonable; nonetheless, the recommendation of the vice president does not make a cogent case for the implementation of the proposal. His or her assumptions have many holes and are not strong enough to engender to the prospective effect.

One of the biggest logical flaws of his or her request is restricting the leisure time like online surfing may not result in forwarding working performance. On the contrary, it would add more stress and fatigue on employees, as they lack the channels to extirpate their mental stress. If they are better in the workplace by spending some hours on reading magazines or playing games, as it helps relieve their stress, banning their use of computer may lead to reduced worker's productivity and ultimately profit decrease for company. The corporate should, instead, consider alternative ways to support the environment that employees feel less enervated and can alleviate their mental fatigue.

The other assumption of the argument of the vice president is about the presumption that the working hours are proportionate with working performance. The extrapolation is not particularly true when workers just spend time in working only for a long period in front of computer and they are not exactly working. They may not concentrate on their project and may dissemble that they are doing so.

Also, even though limiting the usage of computer for pastime may force them on the work, but there are other things that they can be diverted, such as mobile phone or having a chat with coworkers. The concept to restrict all the resources which distract workers from their job seems not ideal, as this definitely lacks the willingness of the worker group.

A close examination of all the assumptions made in the argument of the vice president reveals that his or her proposal dose not have enough justification to confining the time of recreation use of computer by workers. Although the claim certainly points out the importance of time management of workers, but it needs to come up with different plans to enhance workers' participitation and working effectiveness.