. The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of Climpson Industries according to some clueless assumptions purposes that by observation and punishment of employees who use the internet can privilege a work ethic and improve the profit of the company. All of these hypotheses are shaky and require more evidence to get a logic status. In what follows, I will list missing evidence which cast doubt on the accuracy of this proposal.

The first illogical surmise is about the link between the employee's productivity and internet usage. According to the president, the use of internet declines workers' productivity. However, there is no cogent support for this surmise. Indeed, there is a list of factors which possess a more crucial effect on the level of productivity. For instance, the cooperative interaction among the employees who work in a group. It is obvious that in any teamwork there should be a concrete connection among members until the achievement to the desired goal gets easier and faster. In this case, if workers at the Climpson company have been working on a specific project which requires team accomplishment, and team members prefer to have a connection through the internet, for the sake of its easy to use and quickness; would the prohibition of internet use enhance the workers' productivity? Of course, it would not.

Another problem of the proposal is related to the assumption the monitoring and forbidding the internet use in the working station, would decrease the wasted hours by the employees. It is unconvincing since it lacks adhesive reasons. Although time consumed for the personal task can be listed as wasted time in a working office, there is no warranty that the prohibition of internet use by the system of the company will abet this wasted period. For example, there is the possibility that a worker whose station net access has been blocked by the company, uses his cellphone and its internet for his amusement or personal activities. Or another forgotten evidence which makes this hypothesis to be skeptical is the convenience provided by the internet use which even can increase the allocated time for the occupation. As an example, a worker can use the internet for his personal issue such as online bill payment. While this task can be done in a few minutes through the internet, by this ban, that person has to take hours off the office to handle it through banks. Therefore, neither the prevention of internet use reduces the wasted time, nor its usage causes to wasting the working hours.

Finally, the last issue with this prompt is related to the faint conclusion which purposed this plan will boost the industry's profit. Actually, there is no clue to give adherence to this result; besides, other factors such as the working condition has a more effective role in this issue. In other words, while a worker is satisfied with his working condition, he is more eager to work harder. If this observation and ban of internet usage have disturbed the employees and they would not be appeal with this situation, their performance will be affected negatively, and the company loses lots of profit. Consequently, the company should not expect that this plan can increase the company's financial benefits since there is no strong evidence to support this fact.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned points explicitly depict the shakiness of this proposal. It should provide convincing clues about the relationship between the productivity level and internet use, internet use is the reason for wasting time. In addition, the profit of the company is correlated to internet usage.