The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Vice President of Human Resources at Climpson Industries recommends that the internet activity of employees must be monitored, and action should be taken in case of misuse, in order to increase productivity and profits. However, the arguments he makes for the proposal are based on multiple unwarranted assumptions.

The first major assumption that the vice president makes is that several employees actually spend a considerable amount of time on recreational and leisurely activities when using their systems in the workplace. If this was truly the case, the company would have been very unproductive and the question would have been "How do we minimize losses?" rather than "How do we increase profits?". No survey has been conducted to get an idea of how much time is actually spent on unproductive activities. Without this data, spying on employees' internet uses is unjustified.

The vice president also does not consider the costs involved in licensing and installing the monitoring software. If the employees are productive and do not spend much time on leisure, the entire argument of the Vice President is moot and the software would be a costly overhead for the company. This means that overall profits would be reduced, not go up.

The vice president also assumes that the workstations are the only way employees can spend time on the internet inside the workplace. However, in the modern day, every employee of a large company would probably have a decent - if not a flagship - mobile phone, equipped with an Internet package and basic to advanced internet browsers. How would the company monitor employees' private phones? It is impossible to stop employees from using their personal devices in the workplace using the recommendations provided.

Finally, the vice president does not consider possible backlash from employees. There are several work-related activities that overlap with private use, such as checking emails or shopping for parts for a prototype. Employees would not accept the company looking at their private emails under the pretext of keeping track of unproductive activities. If the recommendation is implemented, it may adversely affect the trust employees have in the company. This means that instead of fostering a better work ethic, the recommendation may create an environment of mistrust and purgatory, where employees will be scared to perform any action deviating from what they are explicitly asked to undertake.

In conclusion, the recommendation is highly flawed, built upon baseless assumptions and does not support the claims. It will, with high probability, have an effect very different from the intent. Other ways of increasing profits need to be explored instead of scrutinising the employees.