The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that Climpson Industries can prevent employees from wasting time, foster work ethic, and improve overall profits, the vice president of human resources’ argument does not make a cogent case for installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers. It is easy to understand why the Company needs to implement electronic monitoring of employees’ Internet use from their workstations, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to install the software.

Citing the effort to improve their employees' productivity, the vice president of human resources stated that they should implement monitoring to identify and punish the culprit and will reduce the wasting hour by curbing internet use. He may think that the employee will not use their gadgets like laptops, tablets, or mobile phones to use the internet during their working hours. It may be true that the employee will play offline games from the same workstation without leaving any proof of their action that is completely impossible to detect by the software. In any of the cases, the company will not be able to curb the wasting time by employees and bolster productivity.

Additionally, the author implies that software monitoring is likely to foster a better work ethic as monitoring can find and punish internet users. But, this is likely to backfire. When the employee will know that they are being monitored constantly through their workstation, they will act to be innocent in their module and indulge in the pleasure at best. They will try to use anti-spying software in their system, gossip with colleagues, talk over the phone, shop, and play games with their gadgets. For example, the employees who remain under CCTV surveillance do not behave properly when they are not under monitoring. The employees of Climpson Industries can also behave in an unethical manner when they think that they are not going to be caught by software monitoring. If any of these scenarios come out to be true, the dream of fostering a better work ethic will be unfulfilled.

Finally, the author assumes that by using spyware the company will be able to improve overall profits. But, it can be true that the company will face employee resentment for spying on them. The employee will feel threatened by constant monitoring and will lose the trust of the employer. They may work slowly and sporadically to show the company that they are not wasting time rather they will end up doing less work than they normally do. They can decrease efficiency level which will further decline productivity thus the overall profits will not improve. Employee productivity, efficiency, and working environment are the parameters to improve the overall profits of any organization. But, this is not going to be happened through installing software to monitor employees’ Internet use.

Improved employees productivity has a tremendous effect on the industry to sustain and grow in this competitive market. To have maximum exploitation of the opportunity it is necessary to reduce wasting time, enhance work ethic. For these reasons, the president of Climpson Industries may decide to use Electronic monitoring of Internet use from the workstations by employees. However, the argument of the vice president of human resources is not likely to persuade the authority to Install software to detect employees who use the Internet on company computers.