We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure

there is a proverb called "never judge a book by it's cover". You cannot underestimate the work of the director just because his previous experience was shooting commercials. Everybody needs to earn money to survive in this world. he could have worked for commercials to make his ends meet. he might not have the experience of working in big movies. but he would definitely value his first big opportunity. No business can be wasteful. Advertising videos are one of the major marketing strategies for a product to sell. it is important for them to shoot it beautifully in order to gain customers. Extra shots and scenes always doesn't have to because of the director. even when the actors doesn't perform upto a certain level or if there are any mistakes done by the crew, the director might want to shoot again.

But on the other side it is safer to have a high budget while working with debut directors because we might never know. few people can very grateful for their first opportunity and they would do their best. while some people can waste the time and money of the producers. I have seen movies of debut directors which has been super succesfull while there are few movies which didn't perform well even with a greater star cast.