We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10 in order to ensure a quality product As you know we are working with a first time director whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company Since the adver

The memo advocates for increasing funding for the movie "Working title" by 10% owing to extra charges for actors and other crews due to inefficiency of director and producers. However, this argument is based on multiple assumptions and these assumptions if not warranted will either cause no need of extra money to make movie or render the movie a box office catastrophe.

First and foremost, the author assumes that inexperienced director and assistant producers are wasteful to time. Yes, experienced directors and producers are better than inexperienced ones in most of the cases but this is not always the case. We have seen several movies and series such as "Gangs of Wasseypur", "Panchayat" directed by first time directors being not only better performing at the opening hours, but also having deep impression on the hearts of public even today. Further, the author is has not considered watching shampoo advertisement (previous work of the same director) by himself and analyze whether the advertisement was made taking too much time or not, he jumped on hasty conclusion that advertising business is wasteful and the director must have wasted a lot of scenes during shooting. If these assumptions prove unwaranted and director in fact take less time shooting the movie, there won't be any need of increasing budget for it.

Secondly, the author has considered saving money from one aspect of movie to be used for another aspect. However, This idea does not seem to be valid. We have seen several movies with great actors and actress with poor storyline, direction or cast being great failure. 'Lal Singh Chadda', which was adapted version of 'Forrest gump' was a blockbuster disaster due to poor storyline in spite of having great actors and actress. We have seen similar fate of hindi movie 'Aadipurush", which was adapted version of Hindu epic ramayana. The failure was attributed mostly to poor VFX in case of Aadipurush. As we know, balanced investments on various aspects has made movies like 'Dangal' and 'Bahubali' to be super hit on box office.

Thirdly, mention of extra hours to be used by actors does not seem legit. Since the actors will be paid on contract, the increased time period invested by actors does not necessarily mean increased charge. However, the author has assumed that these people are paid extra if the director proves to be wasteful. This assumption, if proven unwarranted will cause no need to increase budget for the movie.

Thus, the abovementioned factors in the memo should be further analyzed and studied in order to make assumptions such as "the budget for the movie will increase by 10%" or "the movie will still be hit with inexperienced director and producers in expense of budget on the actors and other crew member". Failure of these assumptions will prove assumption truthless. Proper analysis of situaltion helps make memo stand in the ground of reality much better than it stands now.