A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie

studio.

"We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don't get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given claim is memo sent by producer to the movie studio suggesting an increase in the movie funding by 10% for producing a quality product. He believes that without such increase in the funding the movie will be nothing but an assured failure. However, while making such a claim, the proudcer has made many assumptions which have no vaild evidence to prove to be true. Thus, without further information about the arguments made by the movie producer, we are not in a position to conclude anything on the recommendation made by him to increase the movie funding.

To begin with, the author claims that the funding for the movie is to be increased by 10% for them to make a quality product. Here he makes an assumption that the quality of the movie only depends on the funding of a particluar movie. It is pertinent to note that, the quality of any product is not only dependent on the amont of fund to make the product but the amount and the way the resources are utilised in making the product. For instance, if you have 100 dollars to make a pen, and you use 99 dollars working on the outer look of the pen and only 1 dollar on the refil and ink. Does this mean the pen looks good but is of a quality product? Obviously, no right. In the same way the authour assumes that only by increased funding the quality shall improve automatically, forgetting the fact that the quality deoends on the resources at disposal. In case, the resources are proved to be not very talented, or it proves out that the resources are allocated in very inefficient manner, then the asusmption made by the authour shall stand unwarranted and no matter how much the funding is incresed, only when focus is shifted to the resources and their utilisation quality of the priduct cannot be improved.

Secondly, he claims that the advertising for the fim is notoriously wasteful, due to the fact that the director takes many scenes without having a concern of time spent on each scene there by incresing the funds to be given to each actor or actress. Here, the claim is again based on asusmption that mass advertising is more important irrespective of the quality of the product. This is directly contradicting the first claim he made regarding the quality of product. He believes that the advertising of the product is more important, but in relaity even with mass advertising and no wuality of the movie, the movie is ought to be a flop. For instance, consider Saaho, a telugu movie, mass advertising and suspense is created among the people, but when the movie actually release, it only led to the dissapointment fo the people due to the bad quality of acting and poor storyline. However, if the producer focuses more on the advertisment and forgets the quality, this assumption will only lead to the downfall of the movie.

Moreover, he claims that he has reduced the expenditure by employing inexcperienced assistant directors, but eventually such save money is being spent on the actors and other crew for the extra hours spend due to the inexperience directors. This argument is based on the assumption of the inexperience of the directors, the actors are being paid extra. This is a faulty claim as we do not have any evidence on the poor performance of the directors. In fact, without evidence, one can assume that the directors are only working on improving the quality more by spending extra time and effor to make the movie right. This assumption, if proved wrong will cost the film, the most important factor, its qulaity. So, it is recommended for the autor to be wise before coming to any conclusions.

Finally, he makes a statement that if they cannot procure this extra funding, the movie is assure to be a faliure. This statement is fundamentally wrong sue to the various assumptions made by the autor on the meaning of quality, expenditure on advertisement and experience of the directors employed. Without any further evidence, we are not in a position to conclude anything on the author's recommendations. It is wise for the producer to check various other factors influencing the quality before taking any decions.