"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening t

Monarch Books is having 20 years of business in bookselling. The author stated that it is having large customer base because of a wide range of books. The reason why they wanted to open a cafe is not mentioned in the paragraph. It is not known here that Regal Books is having comparable revenue as Monarch or not. Further, the reason that why Regal Books had started Cafe is also unknown. These reasons lead to further discussion on the topic and led the author's recommendation as a weak solution.

First question arises is that why Monarch wants to open a cafe if it's revenue is increasing. If it's revenue is decreasing then they should consider other aspects, too. A decrease in revenue cannot be concluded from the declination of a population. There might be a possibility of an increase in customers of other genres. So, revenue details should be mentioned in the paragraph to discuss further. We can assume if Monarch is having large customer base than Regal. It should also be known if customers of Regal are liking the idea of Cafe inside bookstore or not. People have many cafes to visit for, there would be competition in that as well.

Despite the declination in population, If Monarch is having a fair amount of child customers, It will lead to the decreased revenue as they will lose some customers. The Author had not shown any firm reason if people will love the idea of the cafe inside a bookstore. So, discontinuing children's section might cost them losing customers ad decrease in revenue. Instead, they should improve range of children's books to attract more people. In conclusion, Monarch should analyze different aspects of this and should conclude accordingly.