When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the prompt, the author concluded that to attract more people to Stanley Park, the town will need to provide more benches in the park, giving people space to socialize. The author came to this conclusion based on a data on the number of people visiting Stanley park over a month and the number of people visiting Carlton park on a typical weekday. And in reaching to this conclusion, the author made some unwarranted assumptions which can be evaluated through three major questions.

Firstly, is Carlton Park a similar representation of the Stanley Park? Since, the prompt suggests that Carleton park is situated in the heart of a business district, it maybe the case that Stanley park is not in a business district. In such a case, it will be a poor choice to compare the two parks. Perhaps Stanley Park is situated at the outskirts of a business district which is why less people are visiting Stanley park on a typical weekday. It might be the case the road that leads to the Stanly Park is not suitable for driving or maybe it is situated at an area which requires long hours of driving. If any of the assumptions stated above comes true, then comparing Stanley park and Carleton park will be unwarranted thus weakening the author's conclusion.

Secondly, the author assumed that benches are the only factor that is attracting people to Carlton Park. There might be other factors that are more attractive to people leading them to visit again and again. It might be the case that since Carlton Park is situated in the heart of a business district, the employees like to visit the park during their break time. Another factor might be that there are more vendors and food carts situated on the side of the park which makes it more convenient for people to eat after they visit the park. If either of these scenarios hold water, then the original argument of benches attracting more people will be weakened further.

Lastly, The data from Carlton Park from which the comparison was done, was based on a typical weekday. Is comparing the data of a month from Stanley Park with the data of a weekday of Carlton park a good choice? There may be many cases that led to more people visiting Carlton Park on that weekday, maybe there was an event being hosted nearby and people visiting the event also visited Carlton park making the observation more skewed. If these scenario is found true, the conclusion of the author is based on a skewed data thus weakening it.

In conclusion, the conclusion of the author as it is stated is flawed due to its dependency on some unwarranted assumption. If the author to able to provide sufficient evidence against the questions and the scenarios stated above, only then will it possible to evaluate the feasibility of the recommendation made by the author to add more benched in Stanley Park to attract more visitors.