Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the prompt, it is said that vaccination against cow flu cannot be administered regularly since there is a small chance of death. The author came to this conclusion based on the assumption that casulaties as result of the administering the vaccination will be equal to the casualties from the cow flu. While this decision might be effective, two questions must be answered before evaluating the validity of the decision.

First of all, the author needs to provide evidence that the deaths caused by the cow flu is not more severe than the deaths caused by the vaccination. There might be a chance that if a person is affected by the cow flu, there is a 99% chance that it will result in death. While, if the cow flu vaccination is administered regularly, there will be 1% chance that people will from the vaccination. The percent of deaths can be prevented by a huge amount if the inoculations are administered regularly. If these scenario is true, then the decision provided by the author is severely weakened.

Secondly, were the general people informed of this decision and were their opinions factored in before the decision was taken? The author is assuming that since their is a risk of death from the vaccination , it will be harmful permit regular vaccination. It might be possible that people are so afraid of the consequences of the cow flu that they are ready to take the risk of death from vaccination rather than be unvaccinated. It might be possible that, the cow flu results in life long paralysis and people rather than living a paralysed life wants the vaccination that comes with a risk. If the author did not take the general population's opinion before reaching to a decision then there might be serious repurcussions to his decision.

Lastly, were the deaths caused by the vaccines properly speculated? There might be other factors that is causing the death after the inoculations. There is a chance that if a person takes cautionary steps and maintain a strict diet for a few days after the inoculation, there might be no risk. Perhaps exposure to a cold weather within few days after the inoculation is what caused the death rather than just the inoculation. If the author can provide more evidence that the small possibility of death is only due to the inoculations and not due to reactionary consequence of getting exposed to another factor, then his decision can be justified.

In conlusion, the argument provided by the author is flawed as it is due to its dependence on some unwarranted assumptions. If the author can provide sufficient evidence against the questions stated above and give answers in support to his argument, only then it will be possible to properly evaluate the argument. Otherwise the author's argument is significantly weakened.