While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that the department of education in attra conforms to assigning homework to highschool students but, before they conclude that pupil be assigned with homework twice a week we need to carefully assess some questions which may question the credibility of the claim.

Firstly, How recent is the survey? Will a survey from the state be the only factor in determining the assignment of homework? It might be a factor but there are perhaps a lot more facts which need to be thoroughly understood. The recency of the survey also plays quite a role in making decisions. Let’s take a case where the “recent” according to the survey is more than 2 years, this case challenges the point that the problems which were posed at the time still exist today.

Secondly, Are states of Sanlee and Marlee comparable and if they are then are they analogous to Attra?. Education in states may vary based on the circumstances and the potential of individuals in it. So, when the evidence of the percent of teachers reporting assignment of homework is given it might not be sufficient to compare them. Attra might have students who are capable enough to not require homework and are able to grasp information quickly.

Thirdly, Is homework the only parameter for getting better grades?. Past of an individual and the level of cognizance he has possessed over a period of time might indicate the grades of a student too and if let’s say Clara has had good fundamental knowledge of triangles and quadrilaterals than Pronto who is so-so in it and they both study in the same class, then Clara might be able perform better even if she didn’t do it than Pronto who even after he has done the said homework was not competent enough to pull off in the test where polygons and triangles were asked.

If further details regarding the argument were given and the above questions were answered, the argument may stand a chance else it has flawed assertions which are against the recommendation of the Education department