As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“Machines have taken over, the very nature of humans to solve , struggle and enjoy the fruit is being done so quickly that things are no longer enjoyable as they were”, claimed Bobby Fischer,the greatest chess player of the time in the 1990's when asked about the use of technology in his field to find best ideas . I strongly agree with the prompt that humans will have less cognitive ability if we keep indulging in the luxuries of machines to do trivial things due to the following 3 reasons.

Firstly, Thinking is the key thing that distinguishes an individual from another and converging at a conclusion to a problem can be different for each. The difference in approaches might give relatively complex insights to question about and ponder on but , when we take the support of computers or any technological device for instance and try to arrive at an answer surely , we get an answer but the approach or possibilities it might have taken will be completely blindsided to the user of the machine or apparatus.

Secondly, Artistic and sympathetic nature of humans have also aided the decisions that we take on a day to day basis for solving problems which might be diverse ranging from solving a rubix cube to the gravest problems of poverty and unemployment . If technology keeps arcaning us to solve problems in future we might give it full authority to make the right decision which it does, but whether or not it has taken ethical and moral insights into concern will be far from our grasp .

Thirdly, Humans thrive on repetition and the purpose it gives to the brain and like a sword needs a blade to sharpen we need content for our brain to process and make conclusions or relate assumptions and find the correct connections. For example , children learn alphabets and through repetition only are they able to communicate effectively their ideas and their theories , imagine a future where reliance on technology has made schools and education unwarranted . It would be disastrous for our species to survive independently.

There is also considerable good that the technology provides like connecting people across continents and has made it great for people to find their type of people i.e dating and lot more. The good that it is doing for us is also doing bad for us in terms of our ability to solve problems so, using gadgets and devices as tools to support us sparingly in making things and only using it if we really need might be the key.