While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt concludes that the teachers in highschools of Attra state should give homeworks twice a week and to assert their claim have provided information relating to Marlee and Sanlee states which are conflicting with the Department of Education in the Attra who suggest homeworks be given daily. The credibility of the argument will be at stake if the below three questions are not answered.

To start things off, How recent is the survey? When the term recent is used there must be certain important information which has to follow. Perhaps “recent” according to Billy is less than 2 years but to Mandy it might be more;it’s subjective. The data from 2 years if incase Billy is right might not be useful to comment on the usefulness of homework. The unstated assumption that the problems which were present in the past also exist now can harm the nature of the argument.

Secondly, Are Science and Math teachers the only one’s teaching? In a School where many subjects are taught we need to take the opinions of all the faculty which are there and only then come to a conclusion. If an institute takes opinions of removing language teachers was posed to the non language teachers then it’ll be ludicrous as it will become a biased opinion than a correct one. The above example is comparable to the argument because teachers of math and science were asked but the suggestion that homework should be assigned twice was told to be followed by others.

Thirdly, Is Attra state comparable to the other two states and the grades of students dependent on marks? The very nature of comparison is possible if they are equivalent in some way, here we are given no background on the other factors in the states nor was it said about the IQ of the students in the states . There could be a case where students of marlee were given homework which was substantially easier and the number of times it was given was more. On the other hand, the difficulty of Sanlee was hard . The grades of the student might be dependent on the overall cognizance of them rather than homework being the only reason for students getting low and repeating.

The assertions made were clearly flawed and requires additional information to be commented on and the viability of the argument will be substantially increased if evidence pertaining to the posed questions stand as an arcane.