Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The conclusion of this argument that the “palean baskets were not uniquely palean” rests weakly on several unwarranted assumptions. First, it assumes that there could have been no other modes of transport other than palean boats. Second, it requires the belief that landscape and topography of the river was same during palean period. Finally, it considers the discovery of a solitary basket in Lithos as sole evidence to prove basket as non-palean.

The argument assumes that the palean boats are the only means by which palean people likely crossed river to reach Lithos. It does not cite any evidence about other mode of transport facilities. Villagers might had access to neighboring villages via land, or rope, wooden bridges. It is also plausible that Lithos had own boats and they would have got the basket from palean by means of that. Thus, lack of further evidence about non-availability of other transport modes makes the assumption look facile.

The conclusion also depends on the assumption that area of the river remained constant throughout the palean period. It should be imperative that landscape of a region – especially river areas are prone to constant changes. Also, it’s not taken into account that river could have dried during the summer or frozen during the winter paving way for trade or barter goods including baskets by villages.

Argument considers that discovery of a basket in Lithos to be evident without proper justification. The finding of one basket in entire village gives rise to different possibilities of its origin. It could have been that basket from palea is taken to Lithos by several means. Palean baskets may also be in other neighboring villages. Hence, the author should provide more information about the discovery to aid the argument.

In sum, this argument comprises of weak assumptions and lacks proper evidences to conclude effectively. The author had failed to consider the possibilities of existing transport facilities, trade between villages and landscape of river. Nevertheless, the conclusion that baskets are not uniquely palean may in fact be true, despite it’s not proved due to lack of evidences and weak assumptions. To strengthen the argument, the author need to consider giving further evidences and examples to establish that baskets were not uniquely palean.