Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above argument states that woven baskets that were once thought to be unique to the Palean people are not longer unique to them because it was identified in a village across the Brim River that requires a boat to get across, and no boats have been discovered. However, this conclusion is weak because it does not address several factors that could explain the discrepancy that exists in the argument.

The argument states that the "Brim River is very deep and broad...so the ancient Paleans could have corss it only by boat..." This statement relys on the assumption that the river existed in ancient Palean. It is very possible that the river did not exist back. Even if there was a source of water back then, the river might not have been as deep and broad as it is in present day. So, boats would not have been necessary for crossing the river, thus there is a lack of boat discovery. If the author had addressed the condition of the Brim River in the days of ancient Palean, then the argument would be stronger.

The next assumption that the author makes is that the Lithos ancient village was completely unrelated to the Palean village. This idea is upheld under the assumption that the Brim River exists and other ancient villages resided on both sides. However, since we do not know if the Brim River was indeed as deep and as broad as it is now, it weakens the argument. It is possible that the river did not exist and the Palean people were able to move about the land unhindered, thus they were able to occupy the majority of the land. Then, as time passed, the river slowly deepened and broadened, separating the the ancient village into two. Thus, as time passes, the villages eventually evolve, but still share similar cultures, leading to the discovery of a "Palean" basket. Again, if the author were to provide evidence on the existence of the Brim River in ancient Palea, it would strengthen the argument. It would also help to strengthen the argument if the author were to provide the history of ancient Lithos to show that they were a unique village, not a subset of Palea.

Lastly, the author assumes that the Lithos and Palea people were not in contact with each other because of the Brim River. If the river did not exist, it is possible that there was communication between the two ancient villages. Since they were only divided by a river's distance, they could have traded ideas and culture. The two villages might have even had a trade and barter system, which would explain why there was only one "Palean" basket discovered, instead of many. Thus, if the author were to address the amount of baskets discovered, it could strengthen his argument.

The best way for the author to strengthen his argument would be to provide evidence on the condition on the Brim River, because his main argument rely solely on the idea that the Brim River was far too deep and broad for anybody to travel without a boat.