Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The main conclusion drawn by the author in the given argument states that the so-called Palean baskets are not Palean, but this argument consists of assumptions that are not verifiably true. This makes the line of reasoning of the argument weak and unconvincing. Incomplete data also prevents the author from having a wider view in his opinions.

First of all, the fact that no Palean boats have been found yet does not provide a concrete evidence of the Paleans not crossing the Brim river. What if the boats are yet to be found? Consideration of these questions could assist in resolving the problem of the so-called Palean baskets. Discovery of Palean boats in the coming years could strengthen the statement that those disparate baskets were derived from Palea. Also, the author states that Brim river was too long and deep to be crossed. What if the the river was shallow at that time? Serious environmental changes could have occured during the course of history. This could provide odds in favour of the initial claim of the argument.

Second of all, it could be possible that the denizens of Lithos had the requisite boat technology to cross the Brim river to reach Palea. The Paleans could have taught them the techniques for making their special woven baskets or even sold them some. This consideration could explain the discovery made by modern archaeologists in the village of Lithos and stand in favour of the initial statement that Palean baskets are truely Palean. Proof of existence of Lithosian boats from the same slice of time could provide a strong evidence against the author’s claim.

Furthermore, the author presumes that Paleans did not have any other alternative except for crossing the river by boats. What if there was an alternative method to cross the river? Analysis of the geographical details of the Palean and Lithos reigons could provide an insight into other pathways connecting these two villages. The Paleans could have found new ways to overcome the constraint introduced by the river. What if there was a bridge constructed across the river that could not survive through the passage of time?

Hence, some questions still need to be answered so as to develop a clear picture of the Palean baskets problem. Therefore, the author’s claim about the origin of special woven Palean baskets cannot be held true, primarily because of dearth of evidence and incompleteness of historical data.