Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Though it is possible that Paleans’ were not the sole producer of Palean basket, evidence presented in the argument is not enough to support the authors’ conclusion.

The conclusion is based on the evidence that there were at least one Palean basket in Lithos and that no Palean boats were found. Authors failed to develop a strong connection between these evidence. It is equally possible that people of Lithos indeed had access to boats which they used for trading and communication. As a single Palean basket is found recently, evidence for boats in Lithos could be found too.

Moreover, the state of Brim river, which might had been a small river at that era is not considered. Further information about the river itself, such as tides and direction of flow can explain how a single Palean basket ended up in Lithos.