Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The author argues that Palean baskets are not uniquely Palean. To substantiate his/her claim he/she takes into account the following observations and assumptions: first, such a basket has been found in Lithos across the Brim river, second, the Brim river is deep and broad and third, no Palean boats have been found.

Though, it may be true that a Palean basket have been found across the Brim river in ‘Lithos’, this itself is not a cogent argument to prove that Palean baskets didn’t specifically belong to Palean people. If those baskets were not uncommon among other non-Palean people then the same baskets should have been widespread in far-off non-Palean regions and not just across the Brim River asking to be found and excavated by the archaeologists. Moreover, finding of just one basket is too small a number to conclude anything.

The other assumption takes into account the breadth and depth of the Brim river implying that it is not possible to cross it without a boat and hence the baskets couldn’t have been taken along across the river by Palean people. Here, the ability of some, if not all, Palean people to swim across the Brim river is undermined without evidence. Another logical point being ignored here is that even in pre-historic time the trade of goods and mobility of the masses were prevalent. Even if the Paleans could not sail across the river due to their presumed inability to make boats as well as to swim, other non-Palean boat making tribes could have simply crossed the river into the Palean villages for barter trading.

The author overlooks the common geographical and environmental alterations that may have occurred over such long period. It may be possible that the river was shallow and narrow back then. This would have allowed Palean people to simply walk across the river to sell their baskets in Lithos. Also plausible is the unaddressed assumption that there existed no river at all between these two villages and that they were one. Moreover, the possibility of an ancient bridge connecting the two villages and unable to withstand the tests of the time cannot be simply denied.

The evidence that no Palean boats have yet been found doesn’t prove that the Paleans could not construct boats at all. There is a fair chance that those ancient wreckages may have decomposed over the time thanks to the drastic weather changes. It may also be a case that just like hitherto the archaeologists were not being able to find Palean baskets in non-Palean villages, they are not able to excavate the boats in Palean villages. And it may be just a matter of time that they may start finding few if they continue digging the earth with more sophisticated approach.

To substantiate the claim that the so-called Palean baskets are not uniquely Palean, the archaeological teams must start looking for them in far flung non-Palean areas not just across a river no matter how deep or broad it is now. The claim will further be strengthened if they are able to show that the number of artefacts found in the other non-Palean regions is also comparable to the quantity so far excavated in Palean villages suggesting that they were a commonplace thing and not just exclusive to Palean people.